Saturday, 23 October 2010

Where it all started: the Haslemere hot bed

Godfrey Blount, Arbor Vitae, 1899

The movement began on Foundry Lane and Foundry Meadow (now part of Kings Road), Haslemere.  The weaving houses were all closely located.  In 1901 a number of the key members lived in amongst the weaving houses.  It would appear that Godfrey and Ethel Blount's Studio of Applique Tapestry was the building that is now called 'The Old Studio', whilst the Kings weaving workshop was what is now called 'The Weaving House'.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...